Full-sized TypeMatrix keyboard for better hotkey compatibility and comfort
  • ORFJackal April 2012

Hi all. I'm a programmer and I've used the TypeMatrix 2030 keyboard (blank version) now for a couple of months at work. I like it, but it has a couple of caveats which I would like to be improved in a new TypeMatrix version:

- The arrow keys and numpad are hard to find by just feeling them. Now it's slower for me to find them than on my old traditional keyboard, because I can't feel their shape. I would like them to be physically separate from the other keys, and shaped so that it's possible to _feel_ their location without looking at the keyboard. In other words, there should be some empty space around the arrows/numpad, and they should break free from TypeMatrix's rectangular matrix layout.

- Some key combinations cannot be pressed, because some of the keys found from a regular keyboard are behind the Function key. For example in my programming environment one hotkey is Alt+Insert, which cannot be typed on TypeMatrix 2030 (instead I need to use the mouse). I would like a physical button for each standard key.

- I don't care about the custom keys (media player controls, mail, www, calc etc.) so they can be removed, and their buttons could instead be used for the standard keys (insert, print screen, pause etc.).

I've created a mockup of what kind of a keyboard I would like. You can see it here: http://pic.twitter.com/rgABtSsh Some details are not fine-tuned (for example I haven't thought about where to put the key which is left of "Z" in some keyboard layouts - I use Finnish/Swedish QWERTY), but I hope you get the basic idea. (Also the empty space in front of the keyboard could be used for a wrist support.)

The main modifications in this mockup are:

- Physical numpad, with a some empty space around it to make it easier to feel where it is when you move your hand there to use it. This helps in typing the numbers accurately and quickly.